On His Six – New Release Military romance

I’m a little embarrassed. You see, I had a new book come out last week and I never even blogged about it. There are days…weeks even…when there’s so much to do that I simply can’t get everything done. And last week was one of those weeks.

But…hopefully the tardiness of this post won’t diminish your excitement. It certainly hasn’t diminished mine.

On His Six, the latest book in the Away From Keyboard series of military romantic suspense novels, is now available to purchase on Amazon!

Every book is special to me. But this one…I don’t know how to express how special this book is. And I’m a writer. This should be my stock-in-trade, right?

Check out the blurb, and then I’ll try to explain.

On His Six

Can broken be beautiful?

Ryker McCabe. Former Special Forces. Survived fifteen months in an Afghan prison, tortured within an inch of his life. His scars—and his fears—keep him alone. Disconnected from the world. From his team. From any hope of redemption.

Until he meets her.

Wren Kane. Hacker extraordinaire. Desperately searching for her brother. When police find his body in a drug den, she knows there’s more to his death than an overdose. He’d promised he was clean. And then, she finds the message he left her.

Wren’s prepared to go it alone. Until she runs right into Ryker. He’s the biggest, baddest man she’s ever seen. And he’s willing to risk his life to fulfill her brother’s dying wish. But how can she trust him when he won’t let her in?

When danger comes for Wren, Ryker jumps into action. No one hurts his little bird. Except maybe him. Because if he can’t share his heart, he could lose her forever.

Inspiration for On His Six

A few years ago…I broke. It’s not important why. Nor is it completely my story to tell. But I broke into so many pieces, I wasn’t sure I’d ever be able to put myself back together again.

Except…I’m a survivor. It’s in my DNA. I don’t know how to give up, and I don’t much like being told I have to. So…I didn’t. Piece by piece, I figured out how to make my broken pieces into something…new. Something beautiful. Sure, I bear the scars. Yes, I still often feel broken (or at least fragile). But I survived. I taught myself how to use a power sander. How to fix a dishwasher. How to do so many things I didn’t think I’d ever be able to do.

Ryker and Wren’s story? Well…there’s a lot of me in there. Particularly in Wren. She suffers from anxiety and panic attacks. Just like me. She’s smart, but she often lacks confidence. Just like me. But in the end, she’s insanely capable and determined. Just like me.

Ryker… oh, Ryker. He’s so damaged I had to write him in very small pieces. He wouldn’t talk to me for a long time, but once he started…well, he wouldn’t stop. And now…he’s a part of me.

Pick Up On His Six Today!

You can find On His Six on Amazon and Goodreads.

On His Six is a standalone, slow burn, dark military romance with several potential triggering scenes, including drug use and the brief threat of sexual violence.

All of the books in the Away From Keyboard series are standalone romances featuring a different couple, but past couples and characters do occasionally play active roles in future books.

3 thoughts on “On His Six – New Release Military romance”

  1. I’m very impressed with you’re armed services books they actually have real health issues and challenges that some of our vets have to deal with on a daily basis. I love those books. You have definitely brought awareness to some of the vets issues and told a great story. Thank you.

  2. I have read on his six and second sight! Amazing stories that are awesome, emotional, and absolutely sexy with a consuming story not to be forgotten!!!!!

  3. I can relate to what you wrote. Thirty years ago I shattered. Picking up the pieces wasn’t easy. I still am finding pieces and am trying to figure out where or whether it fits or should be tossed out. It’s a journey. One moment at a time…One day at a time. A higher power has helped….

Leave a Reply to Nancy Elliott Cancel Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top